The Billericay Town Football Club Hall of Fame aims to recognise those individuals that have made an important contribution to the club, whether as a player, staff member or volunteer.


FA Vase Winners
John Newman, Colin Searle

Geoff Aslett, Billy Bingham, Paul Blackaller, Steve Bone, Mark Carrigan, Fred Clayden, Arthur Coughlan, Lester Foreman, John Geddes, Steve Griffiths, Dave Groom, Ricky McQueen, Paul Norris, Mick Payne, John Pullin, Jamie Reeves, Paul Scott, Gary Smith, Tony Wakefield, Phil Whettell, Billy Woodhouse, Doug Young

John Clark, Derek Hanks (Chairman), Harry Leslie, Roy Wrenn

Other entrants
John Kendall

Joe Baker, Nathan Elder, Leon Gutzmore, Steve Jones, Rob Swaine, Danny Westwood, Chris Whelpdale

Ronald Symes

Billericay Town’s most successful period was between 1969 and 1980, with the club winning 28 competitions.

Most of these came under the management of John Newman.

Club Captain Arthur Coughlan was all set to retire at the end of the 1975-76 season but changed his mind to stay on for another season, leading the team to a second visit to Wembley.  Arthur had played for Millwall, Wycombe and Ilford before joining Billericay.

As well as being part of the team that lifted the FA Vase, John Pullin has also made more recorded appearances for the club, 418, than anyone else.

Blues record goal scorer Freddie Claydon strikes, at Archer Hall, against Ongar in an Olympian League match during the 1969-70 season.  This image was found by Groundtastic‘s Vince Taylor in the Basildon Standard Recorder.

Fred Clayden has scored more goals for the club, on record, than any other player.  Two of his 275 goals were scored at Wembley.  Fred finished as the clubs top scorer on 8 occasions between 1971 and 1983.

​The 1979 Final saw Town win the FA Vase for the third time in four years. Fred Clayden scored again and Doug Young scored a hat-trick as Town thumped Almondsbury Greenway 4-1.

This was the first hat-trick in a Wembley final since Geoff Hurst in the 1966 World Cup Final against West Germany.

Colin Searle had been assistant to John Newman on the clubs first two FA Vase Finals.  By 1979 he had stepped up to take charge of the first team, with Arthur Coughlan as his assistant, winning the FA Vase for a third time.

FA Vases

Having originally joined the club as a player in 1959, Ron Symes, has been volunteering with the club for over 50 years.  He briefly played for the reserves before picking up an injury.

He soon got involved in the fund raising side of things with the supporters club.

The FA website stated, in 2014, that Ron ‘has run the supporters’ club, been vice-chairman, kit man, chief fundraiser, organised fans’ travel, run the bar and even helped dig a coach out of a ditch – all as a volunteer for the club he loves.’



Striker Nathan Elder joined the club in 2004 from Aveley.  He ended both the 2004-05 and 2005-06 season as the clubs top goal scorer before moving to Brighton & Hove Albion for a reported £10k in January 2007.

Record breaking forward Leon Gutzmore was top scorer for three seasons with Billericay Town.  During the 1997-98 season he scored 51 goals.

Centre-back Rob Swaine captained the club to promotion in to the Conference South.  He left to join Bromley and was soon promoted in to the Conference National.  Swainey scored the equaliser at Margate in April 2012 which secured the isthmian League title.  He left to join Bromley who he captained to success before rejoining Billericay in January 2017.

Fans favourite Joe Baker joined Town from Sutton United in January 2000 having previously been Leyton Orient.  He ended the 2000-01 as top scorer and was immortalised in t-shirt form by admiring supporters.

​Inside forward Danny Westwood was Blues top scorer for the 1973-74 season, scoring 48 goals.  Danny left to join QPR in 1974, making one appearance and scoring one goal.  He joined Gillingham in 1975, finishing as their top scorer for the 1978-79 season.  Westwood rejoined Town for the 1983-84 season before moving to Grays, Canterbury and Aveley.

Cult hero Steve Jones was the clubs top scorer for 1991-92, and 1992-93 having joined from neighbours Basildon United.  He joined West Ham United for £22,500.  He went on to play for Bournemouth, West Ham again, Charlton, Bristol City and Southend United.  He ended his career, as many have, at Hornchurch.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This