Chelmsford City v Billericay Town
National League South. Wednesday 26 December 2018, 3:00pm.
This Boxing Day Billericay Town make the short journey to Melbourne Park where they will be hosted by Chelmsford City.

The last time the two sides met was in the Essex Senior Cup Final at Colchester United’s Weston Homes Stadium. Town won the match 2-1.

The club earliest known Box Day fixture was a home match against Great Waltham in 1933, which Billericay won 5-1. Prior to this they had played two matches on Christmas Day in 1926 with Rettendon Reserves. The away match ended in a 2-2 draw but Billericay won the home match 5-0.

The next recorded Boxing Day match came in 1971, the first season the Essex Senior League was played. Basildon United visited New Lodge as Town won 4-1 thanks to an own goal and a Fred Clayden hat-trick.

The first away match Town played on Boxing Day was at Witham Town in 1990. The hosts won the match 1-0. This was The Blues first Boxing Day defeat.

Town’s first away victory on Boxing Day came in 1996 at Canvey Island. One of The Blues goal scorers that afternoon was Danny Hazle.

The Blues have played Canvey Island on Boxing Day more than any other club. The Islands have come to New Lodge five times on 26 December with Town travelling to Park Lane once. Billericay have won four of those encounters with Canvey winning the other two.

There are records of Billericay Town playing 22 Boxing Day matches. Town have won 15 of those matches, drawing 3 and losing 4. They’ve scored 40 goals and conceded 23.

The biggest wins are the 5-1 home win against Great Waltham and a 4-0 away win at East Thurrock in 2006.

The biggest defeat came in 1994 when Town left Barking having been beaten 4-0.


1933 Billericay Town 5-1 Great Waltham
1971 Billericay Town 4-1 Basildon United
1983 Billericay Town 1-1 Harlow Town
1985 Billericay Town 2-1 Barking
1987 Billericay Town 1-0 Walton & Hersham
1989 Billericay Town 1-1 Basildon United
1990 Witham Town 1-0 Billericay Town
1992 Billericay Town 2-1 Heybridge Swifts
1994 Barking 4-0 Billericay Town
1996 Canvey Island 1-3 Billericay Town
2000 Heybridge Swifts 0-0 Billericay Town
2001 Canvey Island 3-0 Billericay Town
2003 Canvey Island 3-0 Billericay Town
2005 Billericay Town 1-0 Redbridge
2006 East Thurrock United 0-4 Billericay Town
2007 Billericay Town 2-1 Harlow Town
2009 Billericay Town 4-1 Canvey Island
2013 AFC Hornchurch 1-2 Billericay Town
2014 Billericay Town 3-1 AFC Hornchurch
2015 Canvey Island 0-2 Billericay Town
2016 Canvey Island 1-2 Billericay Town
2017 Billericay Town 1-0 Thurrock

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This